The Economics Teachers’ Association of Western Australia (ETAWA) is a professional association for teachers of Economics in Years 11 and 12 and Economics and Business in Years 5 to 10.

ETAWA's mission is to promote and support the study of Economics and its underlying importance to society today and tomorrow.


The Association's aims are to:

  • foster a strong network of organisations with shared goals related to Economics education

  • demonstrate and relate economics to real life issues and events / develop a stronger appreciation of the knowledge and application of economics in real life / create greater economic literacy in the community

  • promote the role of Economics as a framework for decision making.

To achieve these things ETAWA supports the teaching of Economics by:


  • providing professional learning opportunities for teachers

  • developing resources to support teachers to deliver the syllabus and assess student performance

  • assisting students in their learning through provision of workshops, seminars, forums and revision materials

  • promoting the study of Economics in Years 11 and 12 through student competitions and the increasing awareness of promotional materials

  • representing Western Australian teachers at the national level through participation in the peak body the Business Educators of Australasia (BEA).




The 2020 ETAWA executive includes a range of new and old committee members.




ETAWA is a formally registered association. It is run in accordance with the constitution that was approved at the 2017 Annual General Meeting.

Download a copy of the ETAWA constitution here.


Life members

ETAWA as a professional association has since its inception relied on the time and expertise of teachers who have volunteered to be involved in its organisation and conduct. Over the past 50 years, six to ten members have each year given their time and effort to be on the executive of the association which has benefited thousands of teachers of Economics. Of these people, a select few have been made ETAWA Life Members in recognition of their outstanding service.

  • Kim Bolto

  • John Duncan

  • Greg Hancock

  • Mandy Hudson

  • Steven Kemp

  • Dave King

  • Bob Miller

  • Gary O’Brien

  • Greg Parry

  • Kim Roberts

  • Chris Stone

  • Andrew Tibbitt

  • David Yates

Due to incomplete historical records this list may not be exhaustive. If you are aware of another person who has been made a life member at an ETAWA AGM, please email executive@etawa.asn.au




The last ETAWA Annual General Meeting was held on Wednesday 8 November 2019.


© 2018 ETAWA created by EDE Designs

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • LinkedIn - White Circle